

VISITOR'S AWARDS

14th March, 2016



PRESENTATION CEREMONY

RASHTRAPATI BHAVAN NEW DELHI

INDEX

S.No.	Particulars	Page No(s).
1.	Programme	1 – 2
2.	Brief Background	3 – 4
3.	Visitor's Award for the Best University, 2016	5 – 7
4.	Visitor's Award for Innovation, 2016	8 – 10
5.	Visitor's Award for Research, 2016	11 – 13



14th March, 2016

1930 h	THE PRESIDENT arrives in Auditorium, RBCC		
1932 h	NATIONAL ANTHEM		
1933 h	Welcome by Shri Suresh Yadav, OSD to the President (Member-Secretary, Selection Committee)		
1936 h	Observations by Smt. Omita Paul, Secretary to the President (Chairperson, Selection Committee)		
1941 h	 Presentation of Awards Announcement of name of awardee for the Visitor's Award for Innovation, 2016 		
	Short Video film about the Innovation		
	 Presentation of Citation and a cheque for cash reward of ₹ 1 lakh to the awardee by THE PRESIDENT 		
	 Announcement of names of awardees for the Visitor's Award for Research, 2016 		
	Short Video film about the Research		
	 Presentation of Citation and a cheque for cash reward of ₹ 5 lakhs to the awardees by THE PRESIDENT 		

	 Announcement of the awardee for the Visitor's Award for the Best University, 2016 Short Video film about the University Presentation of Citation and Trophy to the Vice-Chancellor by THE PRESIDENT
1956 h	Remarks by Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani, Minister of Human Resource Development
2003 h	Address by THE PRESIDENT
2013 h	Vote of Thanks by Shri Vinay Sheel Oberoi, Secretary (HE), Ministry of Human Resource Development
2016 h	NATIONAL ANTHEM
2017 h	THE PRESIDENT leaves
2020 h	Group Photograph of the Awardees and Members of the Selection Committee with THE PRESIDENT in South Lounge, RBCC
2030 h	Dinner in Ceremonial Hall, RBCC



The President of India, in his capacity as Visitor of the Central Universities, has been pleased to institute Visitor's Awards in the following categories to promote healthy competition amongst Central Universities and motivate them to adopt best practices from around the world in pursuit of excellence:

- A. Visitor's Award for the Best University;
- B. Visitor's Award for Innovation; and
- C. Visitor's Award for Research.
- 2. The institution of Visitor's Awards were notified vide Notification No.253 dated 24 October, 2014 and first Visitor's Award were presented on 4th February, 2015. Subsequently the Cash reward was amended vide Notification No. 87 dated 10 April, 2015, from the next Visitor's Award, i.e., 2nd Visitor's Award, as shown in Table below:-

SI.No.	Title of the Award	Details
1.	Visitor's Award for the Best University	Citation and Trophy
2.	Visitor's Award for Innovation	Citation and Cash reward of Rupees One Lakh to each individual subject to the limitation of total amount of Rupees Five Lakh if the number of individuals in a group exceeds five member, which will be then equally distributed amongst the members of the group

3.	Visitor's Award for	Citation and Cash
	Research	reward of Rupees One
		Lakh to each individual
		subject to the limitation
		of total amount of
		Rupees Five Lakh if the
		number of individuals in
		a group exceeds five
		member, which will be
		then equally distributed
		amongst the members
		of the group

3. Online applications were invited from all the Central Universities for each category of the awards. After scrutiny of the online applications received, the Selection Committee recommended conferment of 2nd Visitor's Awards, 2016 to the following and the same have been approved by the President:-

Visitor's Award for the Best University, 2016	:	Tezpur University
Visitor's Award for Innovation, 2016	:	Prof. Rakesh Bhatnagar of Jawaharlal Nehru University for development of a genetically engineered vaccine and a therapeutic antibody against anthrax.
Visitor's Award for Research, 2016	:	Molecular Parasitology Group of Jawaharlal Nehru University for pioneering work in the area of molecular parasitology, especially anti- malaria, leishmaniasis and amoebiasis.

VISITOR'S AWARD FOR THE BEST UNIVERSITY, 2016







तंज्ञपुर विश्वविद्यालय TEZPUR UNIVERSITY





The Tezpur University has been selected for Visitor's Award for the Best University, 2016.

Established under the Tezpur University Act (Act No. 45) in the year 1993, the University has made rapid strides and has come to be recognised as a premier university of the country.

The accomplishment of the university stands out in terms of the research output, publications in the journals of international repute, the citation counts, the citation per publication, the scholarly output through international collaboration, the scholarly output in top percentiles and most importantly the scholarly output per faculty.

This University has taken active interest in implementing the recommendations of Vice Chancellors' Conference and also in setting up Innovation Club, and Inspired Teachers Network.

VISITOR'S AWARD FOR INNOVATION, 2016







Prof. Rakesh Bhatnagar School of Biotechnology Jawaharlal Nehru University

The Visitor's Award for Innovation for the year 2016 is awarded to Prof. Rakesh Bhatnagar, a senior faculty member at Jawaharlal Nehru University. He has received numerous awards and recognition for his pioneering work in the field of immunology, genetic engineering and vaccine development.

His team has developed genetically engineered vaccine against anthrax. The technology of recombinant anthrax vaccine has been transferred to Panacea Biotec Ltd. and the vaccine has successfully undergone Phase I and Phase II Human clinical trials. This vaccine has certain quality advantages over other vaccines in terms of side effects.

His team has also developed a DNA vaccine against Rabies. His research group has initiated research in other important infectious disease systems like Mycobacterium, Brucella; aiming to open avenues for their control.

Prof. Bhatnagar is the former Dean of School of Bio-technology at JNU and former Vice Chancellor of Kumaon University. His areas of interest are Molecular Biology of Infectious Diseases, Recombinant Vaccine Development, and Programmed Cell Death in Prokaryotes.

VISITOR'S AWARD FOR RESEARCH, 2016





Molecular Parasitology Group, Jawaharlal Nehru University



Prof. Chinmay Mukhopadhyay Special Centre for Molecular Medicine



Prof. Samudrala
Gourinath
School of Life
Sciences



Prof. Suman Kumar Dhar Special Centre for Molecular Medicine



Prof. Rentala Madhubala School of Life Sciences



Bhattacharya School of Life Sciences (Group Leader)



Prof. Sudha Bhattacharya School of Environmental Sciences



Dr. Swati Tiwari School of Biotechnology



Dr. Deepak Gaur School of Biotechnology



Prof. Jaishree Paul School of Life Sciences

The Visitor's Award for Research for the year 2016 is awarded to Molecular Parasitology Group, Jawaharlal Nehru University, for pioneering work in the area of molecular parasitology, especially antimalaria, leishmaniasis and amoebiasis.

The Research Group comprises of Prof. Alok Bhattacharya, Prof. Sudha Bhattacharya, Prof. Rentala Madhubala, Prof. Jaishree Paul, Prof. Chinmay Mukhopadhyay, Prof. Suman Kumar Dhar, Prof. Samudrala Gourinath, Dr. Swati Tiwari and Dr. Deepak Gaur. They all are working as faculty in School of Life Sciences, School of Environmental Sciences, School of Biotechnology and Special Centre for Molecular Medicine in Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi.

The Research Group led by Prof Alok Bhattacharya has, to its credit, notable accomplishments in the broad area of molecular parasitology as evidenced by their publications in high impact scientific journals. Their research program and findings have fundamental importance in understanding the biology of some very common parasitic pathogens. This work can have a bearing in the development of new therapeutics.
