Ans. These are the Awards conferred annually to promote healthy competition amongst central universities and motivate them to adopt best practices from around the world in pursuit of excellence.
Ans. The President of India, by virtue of various Acts of Central Universities is the head of Central Universities and is known as the “VISITOR”. At present there are 52 Central Universities in the nation.
Ans. At present, there are three categories in the Visitor’s Awards:
1. Visitor’s Award for Innovation
2. Visitor’s Award for Research
   A. Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences
   B. Physical Sciences
   C. Biological Sciences
3. Visitor’s Award for Technology Development
Ans. The winning entry(ies) of each categories and sub-categories will be felicitated with a Citation and cash reward. The total value of the cash reward will be Rupees Two and a Half Lakhs. If there are two or more recipients, the cash reward will be shared equally between them, subject to the condition that, each awardee will receive a minimum of Rupees One Lakh.
For example, if there are two awardees in the same category, the cash reward of Rs. 2.5 Lakh will be distributed equally amongst them, i.e. Rs. 1.25 Lakh each. However, if there are 3 or more awardees in the category, Rs. 1 lakh each will be given to them.
Ans. All faculty members and students of all Central Universities, where the President of India is the Visitor, are eligible for the Visitor’s Awards in all the categories / sub-categories. Individuals / group of individuals can apply.
Ans. Please log on to the official website of President of India, i.e., www.presidentofindia.gov.in. A link is provided in the menu “Nomination for Sixth Visitor’s Awards 2020”. Click on that link and you will be led to the appropriate microsite. Alternatively, you can directly go the url, www.rb.nic.in/va2020.
Ans. Any faculty member or enrolled student of a central university, where the President of India is the Visitor, can apply.
Ans. Yes, any eligible candidate can apply online directly to any of the categories or sub-categories of the Awards.
Ans. One can have multiple numbers of applications in all the categories/sub categories, provided that all entries should be on different topics.
Ans. For queries regarding Visitor's Awards and Application Process, please contact CA-III Section, President’s Secretariat at 011-23017864, eMail: va2020@rb.nic.in.
For any technical difficulties related to Visitor's Awards Website, Online application etc. , please contact NIC Cell, President’s Secretariat at 011-23015321 Extn. 4630, eMail: support-rb@nic.in
Ans. Yes, any eligible person can apply directly without the approval or being forwarded by the University authorities. However, recommendations from two referees will be needed.
Ans. A panel of awardees would be prepared by a Selection Committee for final selection by the President. The Committee will have the following composition:
S.No. Designation Name
i) Secretary to the President - Chairperson Shri Kapil Dev Tripathi
ii) Secretary, Department of Higher Education, MHRD – Member Shri Amit Khare
iii) Secretary, Department of Science & Technology – Member Prof. Ashutosh Sharma
iv) Secretary, Department of Biotechnology – Member Dr. Renu Swarup
v) Executive Vice-Chairman, National Innovation Foundation – Member Dr. P.S. Goel, Chairman
vi) Director, IIT Delhi – Member Prof. V. Ramgopal Rao
vii) Professor, IISc.-Bangalore – Member Prof. Anurag Kumar,Director, IISc.-B
viii) Chairman, University Grants Commission - Member Prof. Dhirendra Pal Singh
ix) Chairman, All India Council for Technical Education – Member Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe
x) Vice Chancellor, Jamia Hamdard – Member Prof. Seyed Ehtesham Hasnain
xi) Director, NIPER Ahmedabad – Member Dr. Kiran Kalia
xii) Member Secretary, Indian Council of Social Science Research, New Delhi – Member Prof. Virendra Kumar Malhotra
xiii) An Officer from the President’s Secretariat – Member Secretary Shri P. Praveen Siddharth, OSD
xiv) Joint Secretary to the President - Special Invitee Shri Ajay Bhadoo
xv) Joint Secretary (CUs), Department of Higher Education, MHRD - Special Invitee Shri Chandra Shekhar Kumar
The Selection Committee will invite online nominations in prescribed formats. The Selection Committee will devise its own procedure to select the awardees, which will be put on the website of the President of India.
Ans. The Awards will be presented by the President of India, in his capacity as the Visitor of Central Universities. The names of the recipients of the awards will be published in the official Gazette.

For any other queries, you may please email at va2020@rb.nic.in